Book 915 Kazuo Ishiguro – The Unconsoled

Oh dear it seems that my reading slump is still prevalent as I didn’t really like The Unconsoled.  It is a pity too as I simply loved Ishiguro’s  last book, Never let me go. Ah well that’s the way the cookie crumbles I guess.

Ryder is an important pianist arriving to an Eastern European city to give a concerto. The thing is he doesn’t really remember being asked and he feels that he has been in this town before as the residents keep cropping up in flashbacks.

For the next 500 pages Ryder’s mental landscape shifts and changes as new people reappear and disappear from his life. New problems and situations crop up at every possible moment until Ryder has a final solution but even he doesn’t know how to solve it properly.

This is precisely was the problem with this novel, after reading two books ( Infinite Jest and The Clay Machine-Gun) the last thing I wanted was a surrealistic, ambling story. Although I kept at it I became very frustrated and annoyed at the aimlessness. However the weird thing is that I couldn’t put it down. I HAD to see if there was going to be a point and things will solve themselves. Without giving away anything I think there will be some mixed feelings by he time one reach The Unconsoled’s conclusion (isn’t the title a hint?)

So my fourth disappointment in a row – let’s hope things improve!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

