Book 833 Gerald Murnane – Inland

 

One question that I ask myself is if whether there is a type of literary style I dislike? on looking back I’m finding out that I prefer to read more solid stories than experimental ones and I admit that it does bother me a bit.

Inland is, more than anything, a novel that creates an atmosphere with some autobiographical bits chucked in. It’s about a writer who goes on a metaphorical journey to the past, where he confronts certain aspects of his life that he has shied from when he was younger.

Despite the fact that this is a beautifully written book – its incredibly poetic at times, I did not really feel like reading something like this so my attitude towards Inland is a little bit negative. I thought the book dragged at times and despite it’s over a 160 pages I felt that it overstayed it’s welcome by a bit. It’s the exact same feeling I got when I read John Banville’s The Sea.

Inland is out of print so if you do decide to hunt it down to be a bit wary.

 

Tags:

One Response to “Book 833 Gerald Murnane – Inland”

  1. R.O.H.Van der Hope. Says:

    About Inland and Gerald Murnane in general: I read a novel only if it reads as “poetry” (or at least some of it – like A Passage to India), and since Murnane contains at least as much poetry as Forster and Thomas Hardy at their best, he is my favourite living novelist – or as he himself would prefer to say – writer of fiction. – R.O.H. Van der Hope.

Leave a Reply

